Skip To Main Content


School Bus Driver Application

The Transportation Department for School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties is currently accepting applications for school bus drivers and Activity (Field Trip) drivers at this time.  Starting pay is $17.20 per hour.  There are positions with benefits available, however, not all positions are full-time and benefited.   Interested individuals must complete the Transportation Application Form online or in person at 1536 Old Tamah Rd.  These forms are located in the left panel under Transportation Employment and must be filled out in order to be considered for a position as a school bus driver.  Applications are kept on file for one year from the date of application.  Applying for a school bus driver position does not qualify you for consideration for any other position within the school district.   All candidates must undergo a S.C. State Law Enforcement background check, a Department of Motor Vehicle check (10 years), SLED background check and a National Sex Offender Registry check.  All candidates must have a pre-employment drug screening.   Completed applications can be mailed to:
Jocelyn Seel
District Driver Trainer 
1020 Dutch Fork Rd.
Irmo, SC 29063    OR   E-mailed to:   SECTION ONE – Application

SECTION TWO – Reference Forms (Note – A minimum of 2 reference forms from previous employers must be submitted with your application. Use the employers listed on the application if at all possible. If this is not possible, include a memo on why it is not possible.)

If your application is approved, you will have to come into our office and sign a ‘District Five Training Agreement’ and complete several additional forms.

Please see the sections on the left to find other information and checklists to help you achieve your goal of driving for District Five.

You may find particularly helpful the files titled: 'Reference Memorandum', '10 Steps To Becoming a Successful Bus Driver' and 'Bus Driver Application Checkist'!

Thank you for your interest in the District Five Transportation Department!